Organisation

The sole shareholder of the BGZ is the Federal Republic of Germany, represented by the Federal Ministry for the Environment.

The Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety has taken over the administration of shareholdings for the Federal Republic of Germany as sole owner, i.e. the exercise of the shareholder function required for a German limited liability company. The organs of the BGZ are the management and the shareholders’ meeting.

Responsibility for the supervision of the nuclear installations managed by the BGZ lies with the supervisory authorities of the individual federal states. For the Gorleben site, this is the Ministry of the Environment, Energy and Climate Protection of Lower Saxony and for the Ahaus site, the Ministry of Economics, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of North Rhine-Westphalia and the District Government of Münster.

Pursuant to §73, para. 1, no. 14 of the Basic Law, the legislative responsibility for nuclear law lies exclusively with the Federation. The specific legislative responsibility lies with the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety.

The BGZ guarantees that radioactive waste and spent fuel elements will be stored under the highest safety standards until their final disposal.

Skip to content

Organisation

Alleiniger Gesellschafter der BGZ ist die Bundesrepublik Deutschland, vertreten durch das Bundesumweltministerium.

Das Bundesumweltministerium hat die Beteiligungsverwaltung, also die Ausübung der für eine Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung vorgesehene Gesellschafterfunktion, für die Bundesrepublik Deutschland als Alleineigentümerin übernommen. Organe der BGZ sind die Geschäftsführung und die Gesellschafterversammlung.

Die Zuständigkeit für die Aufsicht über die von der BGZ geführten kerntechnischen Anlagen liegt bei den Aufsichtsbehörden der Bundesländer. Dabei handelt es sich für den Standort Gorleben um das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Umwelt, Energie und Klimaschutz und für den Standort Ahaus um das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen sowie die Bezirksregierung Münster.
Die gesetzgeberische Zuständigkeit für das Atomrecht liegt gemäß Art. 73 Abs. 1 Ziffer 14 des Grundgesetzes ausschließlich beim Bund. Die konkrete gesetzgeberische Verantwortung liegt im Geschäftsbereich des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit.

Insgesamt wird die BGZ dafür Sorge tragen, dass die radioaktiven Abfälle und ausgedienten Brennelemente bis zu deren Endlagerung unter den höchsten Sicherheitsstandards aufbewahrt werden.